NASCO News

 
Welcoming Our Newest Members

Join us in welcoming NASCO's newest member co-op, Acorn Housing Cooperative! Acorn's mission is to provide affordable, democratic housing for activists and organizers in Northfield, Minnesota. Acorn members also run a non-profit called Cooperation Northfield, and projects include a farming worker co-op, youth organizing, and a budding compost collection worker co-op. Follow along!
 

Movement News

 
Queer the Land's New House

Congratulations to Queer the Land on their new house! This 12 bedroom house will operate as cooperative housing and community center for QT2SBIPOC in Seattle, one of the fastest gentrifying cities in the US.

Learn more at queertheland.org
 
Brighton and Hove Community Land Trust Raise £300k for UK Student Housing Co-op

SEASALT, a student housing co-op in Brighton formed in 2018, raised more than £300,000 to buy its first property for a student housing co-op through a share offer with the Brighton and Hove Community Land Trust, a huge step towards their vision of a student-led initiative for affordable housing, democratic living and long term sustainability. Read more. 
 
Co-ops in Spain’s Basque Region Soften Capitalism’s Rough Edge

The New York Times profiled worker co-ops in Mondragón, Spain, which form one of the largest sources of paychecks in the country and employ over 70,000 worker-owners. "In a world grappling with the consequences of widening economic inequality, cooperatives are gaining attention as an intriguing potential alternative to the established mode of global capitalism." Read more.
 

Housing is the Cure

 
NASCO has signed onto the Housing Is The Cure Grassroots Executive Action Platform and letter to call on President-Elect Joseph R. Biden and incoming CDC Director Rochelle Walensky to end evictions, stop utility shutoffs, and stabilize families for the duration of the COVID-19 pandemic.

We are encouraging members to sign on as well. Learn more here.
 

Upcoming Events

 
Co-op Loan Application Co-working: PPP Round 2
TODAY January 26 at 2 pm PST, 3 pm MST, 4 pm CST, 5 pm EST

NASCO Staff will provide an online co-working space for co-ops to get assistance with applications for the Second Draw PPP Loan. During the co-working session, participating co-ops will collaboratively fill out their applications and NASCO staff will be present to answer questions and assist with troubleshooting.

Climate Justice & Organized Labor
January 28 at 4 pm PST, 5 pm MST, 6 pm CST, 7 pm EST

This webinar, hosted by the Power Shift Network, will be an introduction to labor organizing and how it interacts with many aspects of the environmental justice movement, such as how right-to-work legislation and other union-busting efforts or hampering work affect the climate justice movement. Panelists will also be discussing the connections between the current labor organizers and mutual aid organizers in the youth environmental movement. 

Solidarity Economy 101
January 30 at 1 pm PST, 2 pm MST, 3 pm CST, 4 pm EST

What is the solidarity economy and how does it differ from other 'alternative' system frameworks? What are examples? Join the US Solidarity Economy Network (USSEN) for an introductory course to SE principles and practices. There are limited spots, and more than 900 people were interested in the first session, so make sure to register soon!
 

Job Board

 
Cooperative Development Specialist Thistle Communities, Boulder, CO
Director of Lending Shared Capital Cooperative, Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
Director of Finance and Operations Shared Capital Cooperative, Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN
Cooperative Housing Specialist Northwest Cooperative Development Center, Olympia, WA
Executive Director Cooperative Development Foundation, Washington, DC
Interim Development Officer New Economy Coalition, Remote USA
Maintenance Coordinator MSU Student Housing Cooperative, East Lansing, MI
Education Team Member for Economics & Gov Program Highlander Center, East Tennessee
Operations Coordinator East Bay Permanent Real Estate Cooperative, Bay Area
Community Organizer East Bay Permanent Real Estate Cooperative, Bay Area
Operations Coordinator Democracy Collaborative, Washington, DC
Housing Justice Organizing Manager People United for Sustainable Housing, Buffalo, NY
 

Join NASCO

 
Are you a NASCO supporter but not currently living in a NASCO member co-op?

Become an Individual Member to provide ongoing, grassroots financial support that significantly increases NASCO’s capacity to scale its work. 

Join NASCO here. 
 
Copyright © 2020 North American Students of Cooperation, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
NASCO
The Blue Lacuna
2150 S Canalport Ave STE 2A-11
Chicago, IL 60608
UNITED STATES


Unsubscribe | Subscribe | Opt-Out