Staff and Board


Liz Anderson

Director of Education

Liz (she/her/they/them) was first introduced to cooperatives as a worker-owner at Rose City Coffee Co-operative at Earlham College. They majored in Business and Nonprofit Management with a minor in Women’s, Gender and Sexuality studies. Before working at NASCO, Liz's time working with the U.S. Federation of Worker Cooperatives spurred their dedication to grassroots movement building in the cooperative sector. Liz is the staff liaison to the NASCO Internal Affairs Committee.

Brel Hutton-Okpalaeke

Director of Development Services

Brel (they/he/him) began their co-op journey in 2014 in Madison, Wisconsin as a member of Madison Community Cooperative, Madison Area Cooperative Housing Alliance, and the United People of Color Caucus. In their free time, Brel teaches at and serves on the board of the Madison Freewheel Bicycle Co. and is in the process of converting it to a worker-owned co-op. Brel sees cooperatives as one of the best ways to affect social change and actively fight gentrification and extractive economic practices. Brel strives to make sure that people of color in cooperatives are represented, supported, and respected by our co-ops. Brel believes in strategic, continual expansion of the co-op sector because we can change the world for the better with these things! Brel has served on all three NASCO Family Boards and is the staff liaison to the NASCO Development Services board.

Katherine Jennings

Director of Operations

Katherine (she/her) discovered her love for cooperatives started in 2011 when she moved into Ad Astra, an UKSHA cooperative and NASCO property in Lawrence, KS. Within her first week at Ad Astra, she knew that she had happened upon something special, but had no way of knowing how big of an impact it would have on her life. Over the next six years, she served on the UKSHA Board of Directors in various roles before becoming one of two Executive Staff. In addition to her work with cooperatives, Katherine's professional experience has focused on food justice and non-profit management. Katherine is an aspiring artist, a dedicated writer, and an accomplished daydreamer. Katherine is the staff liaison to the NASCO Executive Committee, Planning Committee, and Personnel Committee.

Daniel Miller

Director of Properties

Having worked with coops at various stages of development as a volunteer, board member, and staff member, Daniel (he/him) now serves as the Director for NASCO Properties. As liaison to the board, he works to coordinate maintenance, governance, and budgeting for co-ops in the NASCO Properties system. Daniel also helps co-op organizers in the initial stages of development, gives guidance to co-ops on how to operate successfully, identifies potential co-op development projects and assesses their feasibility, and manages assets for NASCO. Daniel is the staff liaison to the NASCO Properties Board and NASCO Properties Executive Committee. Daniel really likes migas tacos.

Ratih Sutrisno

Director of Community Engagement

Ratih (she/her) hails from Saint Paul, MN, where she grew up deeply rooted in her family’s Indonesian culture. Having spent the majority of her life focused on issues of environmental and social justice, Ratih is passionate about the efforts underway to build a cooperative movement that puts people and communities over profits. She believes that effective communication is vital to broadening the movement to build a just and equitable economy that works for ALL people and the planet. Ratih works for NASCO from Chicago, IL where you can usually find her throwing frisbees or cooking brunch at her housing co-op. Ratih is the staff liaison to the NASCO External Affairs Committee and loves fundraising and all things design.

NASCO Board Members

Ankita Bharadwaj
Remigio Casanova
Leonie Cesvette
Nicholas Coquillard
Kiyomi De Zoysa
Alex Green
Topaz Hooper
Lainey Jackson
Mer Kammerling
Jeremy Karevich
Camryn Kessler
Rek Kwawer
Tristan Laing
Taylor Rhode
Nola Warner
Lana Wong