NASCO Properties

A co-op of co-ops.

NASCO Properties (NP) was created in 1988 as a property holding and management corporation to assist new student housing cooperatives with financing and management. Since then, NP has become an important development tool for student and community groups that want to start group equity co-ops but don't have access to the cash and technical assistance they need. NP uses equity from buildings it owns to provide collateral and equity for these new groups.

NASCO Properties also operates as a support network for its member co-ops, offering training and asset management assistance. In turn, these member co-ops form the governance structure for NASCO Properties. Each co-op seats one representative to the NASCO Properties board of directors.  As of August 2020, there are 16 properties owned by NP and used by seven leasing cooperatives in Austin, TX, Chicago, IL, Buffalo, NY, Urbana, IL, Lawrence, KS, Athens, OH, and Providence, RI with a total capacity of 249 members.


NASCO Properties Board Members

Erik Haney
Finesse Haverly
Tristan Laing

Tristan Laing (he/him) has been actively engaged in student cooperative governance and operations since he moved into Campus Co-op Residences Inc in 2005. Somehow he did not attend a NASCO institute until 2012, and even then it was by accident. Still, there was something about standing in a room with 400 odd other student cooperators that made him feel, "these are my people". Three years later, after abandoning the field of academic Philosophy, he joined the NASCO Board of Directors and began a masters of Adult Education at the University of Toronto focussing on the history of Student Housing Cooperatives in Ontario. He is both a scholar and an activist of cooperation, passionate about pursuing the post-capitalist anarcho-communalist future foreseen by people like Robert Owen, the Rochdale Pioneers, and James P. Warbasse. When he is not reading cooperative history, or debating the competing merits of different cooperative traditions, he can be found baking sourdough bread and planning trips to visit other NASCO co-ops.

Ben Lee
Shining Li
Alec Martinez
Danny Mauer
Natalie Nguyen
Seven Rockhold
Kathryn Solorzano Lowell
Christian Vieweg